Metamorphosis

Will you give me your voice, oh little bird?
So I can sing, so I can talk?

I will give it to you, my voice, sing and talk!
But give it back to me when you return.

Don’t follow me, princess of the forest,
Don’t follow me!

Will you give your fruit to me?
Will you give it to me as a head, oh calabash?

I will give it to you, but give it back,
Give it back to me when you return.

Don’t follow me, princess of the village,
Don’t follow me!

Will you give me your branch as an arm,
As a leg, a body, oh tree of the forest?

I will give it to you, spirit of the woods,
But give it back to me when you return.

Don’t follow me, princess of the meadows,
Don’t follow me.

Will you give me your leaf as a dress?
Oh palm tree, please give it to me.

I will give it to you, so you are dressed,
But give it back to me when you return.

Don’t follow me, princess of the fields,
Don’t follow me.

Why should I not follow you, beautiful prince?
My prince of the forest!

Will you give me your flicker, oh sun?
Your flicker on the forest floor, as a smile.

I will give it to you, as the sparkle of your eye.
But give it back to me when you return.

Oh, don’t follow me, my little princess,
Don’t follow me back into the forest.

Stranger from the forest, you are so handsome,
Who are you? Let me follow you.

Don’t follow me, beloved one,
I am here only for this night.

All the beauty of the forest is in you!

Don’t follow me, my princess!

Will you give me your gentle touch, oh wind,
So I can touch my little princess?

I will give it to you, so you can touch her,
So you can dance, like the branches of the trees.

I am dancing, I am embracing you,
But don’t follow me, my wonderful princess.

Why should I not follow you, beautiful prince?
Prince of the forest? I will come with you.

My princess, if I could only stay.

Just stay with me. Just stay!

I have to leave you know, I have to give.
Give everything back.

Just stay here, my princess.
It was only a dream. Only a dream!

Now give me back my branches, so I will be
A tree again. – Here they are.

Oh my prince, I don’t see your arms,
I still feel your touch, but where are you?

Don’t follow me, my beautiful one!
Don’t follow me into the forest.

I will be there, my beautiful one,
But you would be lost, so stay behind.

Give me back my leaves, so I will be
A palm tree again. – Here they are.

You were so handsome in your garments!
Now I don’t see them again. Where are you?

Don’t follow me, my beloved princess,
I told you not to follow me.

Give me back my voice, so I will be a bird again
A bird should not be without a voice.

I still see your smile, your glance.
But where are you, sunshine of my eyes?

Now give me back my fruit, my seeds,
My children. – Here they are.

I only feel your touch, but where are you?

Don’t follow me. I am only the wind now.

Give back my touch, my dance,
So I will be the wind again. – Here it is.

The trees are shaking again, the trees.
The birds are singing again, the birds.

How will you find your way back?
I can’t talk to you, can’t touch?

It’s like I still see your eyes, your smile
What has happened to you?

Give me back my spots of light,
so there will be light again beneath the trees.

Why did you follow me, princess,
Why did I ever come to you?

Where to go, I am lost. Where are you?
When I am born again, when I am born again,

I want to be a tree, deep in the forest,
Where the sunspots are dancing in the wind.

Why did you follow me, beautiful princess?
Why did you follow me?

Let my eyes become butterflies,
Let my smile become a flower.

Let my body become a liana,
Growing all over the forest.

Let my voice become the song
Of the forest cicada.

One thought on “Metamorphosis

  1. Based on some West African story motives.

    I don’t have enough distance to this to judge if it is kitsch or not. I am not going to defend it if you think it is. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

